Good Time Design Blog

The Blind Burro Showdown

The Blind Burro Taco Fights this past month have been epic! Each week, AMAZING Chefs from around San Diego have battled it out for the taco crown! Here is a little recap of the taco history we got to witness!





Kick off was on February 2nd and the two chefs duking it out were Chef Miguel Arreguin from Coasterra Restaurant and Chef Julian Peres from Knotty Barrel! The competition was fierce and the tacos were muy bueno but in the end, Chef Miguel Arreguin won that round!





Round 2 of Taco Fights 5 was ACTION PACKED!  Chef Kevin Templeton from Barleymash battled it out with Chef Arnold Brown from Harvest by The Patio. Two delicious tacos were presented and even though a hard-fought battle, Chef Kevin Templeton from Barleymash took the top spot with his taco creation!





Round 3 was the closest Taco Fight throw down we have ever had! Chef Lety Gonzalez from Uptown Tavern & Chef Chris Gerwig from Searsucker San Diego really turned up the heat in our kitchen with their mastermind tacos. So hot that Chef Lety was our week three winner by just ONE VOTE!!




Who will take home the big W in our championship round?

Taco A:
Honey Ale Carnitas Taco | Made with escabeche slaw, house cut fries, lime crema, cotija cheese on a homemade duck fat flour tortilla with chili and lime

Taco B:
Duck Al Pastor Taco | Made with pickled pineapple, grilled green onion, watermelon radish, avocado puree, micro cilantro on a duck fat tortilla

Taco C:
Spanish Octopus Taco | Made with grilled pineapple, pequin chile salsa, caramelized pearl onions, epazote, corn, blistered jalapeños, jicama cilantro salad on a handmade blue corn and pepita seed tortilla

Find out Thursday night, 2.23.17, as our top 3 chefs battle it out for bragging rights of BEST TACO!



Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

twenty − 19 =